The University of Saskatchewan values diversity, and Aboriginal engagement is a strategic priority.

Assistant/Associate Professor (Dermatology)

Applications are invited for a tenure-track faculty position in Small Animal Dermatology at the level of Assistant/Associate Professor beginning July 1, 2015 or when the successful candidate is available.  

The Western College of Veterinary Medicine:  The WCVM is western Canada’s regional college of veterinary medicine.  Approximately 80 students from the four western provinces and the northern jurisdictions are admitted annually to the DVM program.  The College also includes over 140 graduate students, interns and residents.  It is part of a comprehensive academic health sciences group at the University of Saskatchewan ( with access to facilities including Canada’s national synchrotron light facility ( and Cyclotron-PET/CT Research Centre. For further information, please visit

The WCVM is located in the vibrant and economically booming city of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan’s largest city and one of the sunniest cities in Canada.  For more information on Saskatoon, please visit

The Veterinary Medical Centre:  The VMC a recently renovated and currently outstanding state-of-the-art facility serving western Canada as an AVMA and AAHA accredited hospital and referral centre. Available on site are a newer CT, 1.5T MRI, and Varian Clinac with SRT and IMRT capabilities and ARIA and Eclipse treatment planning. For more information, please visit centre/index.php.

Responsibilities:  The primary responsibilities of the successful candidate include:  high quality instruction in dermatology to undergraduate and graduate veterinarians; organizational responsibility and participation in the clinical teaching and service programs of the Small Animal Clinic of the Veterinary Medical Centre; delivery of continuing education to practicing veterinarians; and scholarship and research in dermatology.   Extensive opportunities for collaborative research exist within the College and University (College of Medicine, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, College of Dentistry, and College of Kinesiology). 

Qualifications:  Applicants must possess a D.V.M. degree or its equivalent and must be eligible for licensure to practice veterinary medicine in Saskatchewan.  Candidates must be a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Dermatology or have credentials acceptable to the ACVD at the time the appointment takes effect.  ACVD Board certification is required for tenure.  Previous academic experience and an advanced research degree are desirable. 

Salary & Benefits:  The current salary range for an Assistant Professor is $90,796-109,108 and for an Associate Professor is 109,108-127,420.  This position comes with a comprehensive benefits package which includes pension plan, life insurance (compulsory and voluntary),sick leave, travel insurance, death benefit, dental plan, extended health and vision care plan, employee assistance program and flexible health and wellness spending program.

Applications:  A letter of intent outlining special interests, experience and career goals; curriculum vitae and a curriculum vitae including the names and addresses of three referees; and copies of credentials should be submitted to Dr. Cindy Shmon, Head, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, Western College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Saskatchewan, 52 Campus Drive, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, S7N 5B4 Canada or at  Review of applications will begin May 15, 2015 and continue until a suitable candidate has been appointed.

View All

The University of Saskatchewan is strongly committed to a diverse and inclusive workplace that empowers all employees to reach their full potential. All members of the university community share a responsibility for developing and maintaining an environment in which differences are valued and inclusiveness is practiced. The university welcomes applications from those who will contribute to the diversity of our community. All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadian citizens and permanent residents will be given priority.