Law Foundation of Saskatchewan Chair

University of Saskatchewan

College of Law

The University of Saskatchewan College of Law invites outstanding candidates with an interest in the scholarly investigation of law and policy to apply for the Law Foundation of Saskatchewan Chair. Past holders include Allan Blakeney, Richard Gosse, Sidney Harring, Michael Taggart, Alan Cairns, Julien Payne, Denise Réaume, Judith Fudge, Grant Hammond and John Whyte.

Candidates in all areas of scholarly interest are encouraged to apply. The College of Law has particular strength in a number of fields, including dispute resolution as well as constitutional, criminal, Aboriginal, and human rights law. In addition, there exist interdisciplinary links between the College and other academic units on campus, specifically the Graduate Schools of Public Health, Public Policy, and Environment and Sustainability. Consequently, scholars who work in these areas may find the prospect of collaboration with members of the University’s academic community particularly appealing.

The successful candidate for the Chair will be an academic with an established record of scholarly achievement. He or she will be in residence at the College of Law and expected to enliven the intellectual life of the faculty by pursuing a research program, teaching one or two courses/seminars, giving a public lecture and possibly overseeing the planning of a conference. Appropriate administrative and financial support will be provided to the chair holder, especially concerning research and outreach activities. Tenure will normally be for one year, but in any event no longer than two years. Salary will be commensurate with the experience and standing of the holder. The date for appointment is flexible, but may be as early as July 1, 2013.

The College of Law is the oldest law school in western Canada and has a distinguished and venerable history. We graduate leaders in a host of different areas with alumni holding judicial, political, academic, private and public sector positions at the highest levels in a number of different regions within the country and beyond. The law school is committed to providing its students with rich experiential learning opportunities. Our faculty members are award-winning teachers, recognized for their teaching innovation and effectiveness. The College has embraced the interdisciplinary opportunities presented by being part of a major research-intensive university. This fact is reflected in the value the law school attributes to the creation and dissemination of diverse forms of knowledge and the use of that knowledge to better the human condition.

Inquiries as well as letters of application, accompanied by a current curriculum vitae and an outline of the research plans and proposed overall program of the candidate during the Chair term, should be directed to:

Sanjeev Anand, Q.C. 
Dean, College of Law 
University of Saskatchewan 
15 Campus Drive 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan 
S7N 5A6  
Telephone: (306) 966-5910 
Fax: (306) 966-5900  

View All

The University of Saskatchewan is strongly committed to a diverse and inclusive workplace that empowers all employees to reach their full potential. All members of the university community share a responsibility for developing and maintaining an environment in which differences are valued and inclusiveness is practiced. The university welcomes applications from those who will contribute to the diversity of our community. All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadian citizens and permanent residents will be given priority.